HomeEntertainmentGALECA names Dorian Award winners for 2017 film, TV

GALECA names Dorian Award winners for 2017 film, TV

LezMeetOnline Lesbian Online Dating
Call me by your name - Dorian Awards

GALECA names Dorian Award winners for 2017 film, TV

While the rest of the world has the Oscars and Golden Globes choosing the best of 2017’s TV shows and movies, GALECA has announced the winners of the Dorian Award.

GALECA is the Society of LGBTQ Entertainment Critics and is composed of over 200 gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, queer, and ally entertainment journalists in the US, UK, and Canada.

Among the winners of the ninth annual Dorian Awards were the movie Call Me By Your Name, movie director Greta Gerwig, and RuPaul’s Drag Race.

Dorian Award winners for 2017

The Dorian Awards cover TV and film in 26 categories and ranges from mainstream to LGBTQ-centric.

At the top of the list of winners was the movie Call Me By Your Name, which had nine nominations and was named the 2017 Film of the Year.

The movie about the relationship of two young men also earned Timothée Chalamet a win for Film Performance of the Year — Actor as well as the Rising Star choice.

Sally Hawkins for Guillermo del Toro’s The Shape of Water won for Film Performance of the Year – Actress.

Greta Gerwig, who wrote and directed the coming-of-age drama Lady Bird, was named Director of the Year.

Jordan Peele, of the TV Key and Peele sketch comedy series, won Screenplay of the Year for the movie thriller Get Out and was chosen as the Wilde Artist of the Year and Wilde Wit of the Year.

Saturday Night Live regular Kate McKinnon was chosen for TV Musical Performance of the Year for her impersonation of Kellyanne Conway, beating Lady Gaga and Pink.

Dorian Award honors Meryl Streep

Meanwhile, iconic actress Meryl Streep was chosen for the career achievement honor of Timeless Star. Those who had won the award previously include Jane Fonda, Dame Angela Lansbury, and Sir Ian McKellen.

The last time Streep won a Dorian award was in 2012 for The Iron Lady about British Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher.

Currently, she plays Katharine Graham, the publisher of The Washington Post, in the movie The Post.

Diane Anderson-Minshall, GALECA’s president and editorial director of The Advocate magazine, said. “Streep’s latest film, ‘The Post,’ speaks to her commitment to playing, and supporting, strong women who push for or at least embody the need for equality.”

John Griffiths, GALECA’s Executive Director, said: “From ‘Sophie’s Choice’ to ‘Postcards from the Edge,’ Streep’s an incredibly stirring and affecting actress who transports, delights and nails various accents like no other.”

Others of the 2017 Dorian Award

Also in the list of winners was God’s Own Country, another love story involving two gay men, which won GALECA’s Unsung Film of the Year.

Del Toro’s The Shape of Water was chosen as Visually Striking Film of the Year while Darren Aronofsky’s mother! was Campy Flick of the Year.

The Orchard beat out A Fantastic Woman for Foreign Language Film of the Year.

On TV, HBO’s murder mystery Big Little Lies was TV Drama of the Year, with Nicole Kidman (for Big Little Lies) and Kyle MacLachlan (for Twin Peaks: The Return) as the big winners for Best Performances on TV.

Starz’s fantasy American Gods was the Unsung TV Show winner, TBS’ Full Frontal with Samantha Bee won for Current Events Show of the Year, and RuPaul’s Drag Race was LGBTQ Show of the Year.

GALECA will hold their annual Winners Toast on February 24 in Beverly Hills for select winners.

Share With:
No Comments

Leave A Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.